Parks are at the heart of communities and part of our environmental, social and economic well-being – so it’s important we take great care of them.

Toitū Te Whenua is the management plan for eight regional parks and forests. It includes Akatarawa, Battle Hill, Belmont, East Harbour (including the Northern Forest, Baring Head/Ōrua Pouanui and Parangarahu Lakes), Kaitoke, Pakuratahi, Queen Elizabeth and Wainuiomata parks. 

Toitū Te Whenua was approved by Council on 10th December 2020 and provides directions for these parks managed under the Reserves, Local Government and Wellington Regional Water Board Acts.

Updated February 23, 2023 at 2:27 PM

Get in touch

0800 496 734